Jew Watch

Keeping a Close Watch on Jewish Communities & Organizations Worldwide

Top: Jewish Supremacy of Major Associations and Movements: Jews Who Run Major Associations

This article was found at which was freely available on the Internet on November 5, 2005 and is included in this archive for research, educational, and personal use by those requesting such materials in advance in accordance with the fair use provisions of Title 171 of the copyright act. More recent updates may be available at the owner's site.


Fairness and Accuracy in Media (FAIR),
Executive Director: Jeff Cohen

Paul Revere Society,
The PRS apparently IS Michael Savage (born Michael Weiner). Conservative talk-show host and apologist for Israel.

Association of American Publishers,
Chairman of the Board of Directors: Jane Friedman
(Friedman is President and CEO of HarperCollins Publishers).

Screen Actors Guild,
President: Melissa Gilbert
"Other Jewish performers in the cast [of the play "The Education of Max Bickford"] include Jill Clayburgh and Sara Gilbert. Gilbert, 27, is best known for her youthful role as Roseanne's youngest daughter on the "Roseanne" television series. Her sister, MELISSA GILBERT, 38, was the former child star of "Little House on the Prairie" and many TV movies. Melissa was elected president of the Screen Actors' Guild late last year." -- Jewish Bulletin

American Film Institute,
Director and CEO: Jean Picker Firstenberg (Jewish?)

Recording Industry Association of America,
Prior Chairman and CEO: Hilary Rosen
New Chairman and CEO: Mitch Bainwol (formerly a Jewish Republican Party official)
President: Cary Sherman

National Association of Recording Merchandisers,
"The Voice of Music Retailing"
President: Pamela Horovitz
Chairman: David Schlang (Jewish?)

National Film Board of Canada, (government subsidies for independent filmmakers) Commissioner and Chairperson: Jacques Bensimon

Arbitron, (media research)
President and CEO: Stephen B. Morris
(non-executive) Chairman: Lawrence Perlman

The Media Coalition, Inc.,
Executive Director: David Horowitz

The Media Access Project,
President and CEO: Andrew Jay Schwartzman

Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (Canada's BBC),
President and CEO: Robert Rabinovitch

Canadian Museum of Civilization,
President and CEO: Victor Rabinovitch (brother of Robert - see above)
"Their [the Rabinovitch brothers] appointments, the apex of careers built largely in the federal civil service, were 'a source of naches [pride] for the entire Jewish community,'' said Irving Abella, a Toronto historian and former president of the Canadian Jewish Congress. 'They are energetic and dedicated, and never tried to hide their Jewish background.'"

Center for Media and Public Affairs,
President: S. Robert Lichter
Vice President: Linda Lichter

Association of Alternative Newsweeklies,
Executive Director: Richard Karpel

Project for Excellence in Journalism/Committee of Concerned Journalists,
Director (and Vice Chairman of CCJ) -- Tom Rosenstiel
Chairman of CCJ -- Bill Kovach (Jewish?)

Directors Guild of America,
President: Michael Apted
National Vice-President: Edwin Sherin
National Executive Director: Jay D. Roth
Associate National Executive Director: Warren Adler
(also: Presiding Officer,Western Directors
Council: Michael Apted Presiding Officer,
Eastern Directors Council: Edwin Sherin)

The Society of Professional Audio Recording Services,
President: Jeff Greenberg
President-Elect: Andrew Kautz
Treasurer: Doug Levine
Executive Director: Larry Lipman

Academy of Television Arts & Sciences ("Emmy" awards),
Chairman & CEO: Dick Askin
Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation,
Chairman & CEO: Tom Sarnoff

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences (AMPAS), ("Academy Awards")
A) AMPAS Board of Governors:
First Vice President: Sid Ganis
Vice President: Gilbert Cates
Executive Director: Bruce Davis (Jewish?)
B) AMPAS Administration:
Executive Director: Bruce Davis (Jewish?)
C) AMPAS Foundation Board of Trustees:
President: Fay Kanin
Vice President (1 of 2): Charles Bernstein
Executive Secretary: Bruce Davis (Jewish?)
Secretary: Sid Ganis
( Note: Fay Kanin is also Executive Committee Chair AMPAS Writers Branch)

"Tony" awards are presented by the following two organizations:
1) The League of American Theatres and Producers (LATP),
Chairman: Gerald Schoenfeld
President: Jed Bernstein
2) The American Theatre Wing (ATW),
Executive Director: Howard Sherman

National Academy of Recording Arts and Sciences (NARAS),"The Recording Academy" ("Grammy" Awards),
President & CEO: Neil Portnow
General Council: Joel A. Katz

Songwriters Guild of America (SGA),
Executive Director: Lewis Bachman
National Projects Director: George Wurzbach (Jewish?)
Executive Vice President: Richard Adler
Second Executive Vice President: George David Weiss
First Vice President: Ervin Drake (Jewish?)

Dramatists Guild of America, Inc.,
President: John Weidman (Jewish?) (Note:novelist and playright Jerome Weidman wrote "I can Get it for You Wholesale", which starred Barbara Streisand when it played on Broadway.)
Secretary: Arthur Kopit (Jewish surname)

Motion Picture Association of America,
(i.e., the frontman for Hollywood)
President: Dan Glickman

American Cinema Editors,
President: Alan Heim

National Cable and Telecommunications Association,
President and CEO: Robert Sachs

Online News Association,
President: Ruth Gersh, Director of Online Services, AP Digital
Vice President: Michael Silberman, Managing Editor, East Coast,
Secretary: Jonathan Dube Jonathan Dube (Jewish?), Managing Producer,


Archived for Educational Purposes only Under U.S.C. Title 17 Section 107 
by Jew Watch Library at


In accordance with Title 17 U.S.C. Section 107, any copyrighted work in the Jew Watch Library is archived here under fair use without profit or payment to those who have expressed a prior interest in reviewing the included information for personal use, non-profit research and educational purposes only. 

If you have additions or suggestions

[email protected]